2010 Helen B. Warner Prize for Astronomy

Fred K.Y. Lo


Scott Ransom


I am very pleased and proud to announce that Scott Ransom has been awarded the 2010 Helen B. Warner Prize for Astronomy by the American Astronomical Society (AAS) "for a significant contribution to observational or theoretical astronomy during the five years preceding the award."

Specifically, Scott is cited by the AAS for "his astrophysical insight and innovative technical leadership enabling the discovery of exotic, millisecond and young pulsars and their application for tests of fundamental physics."

This is a very prestigious award for a young scientist. Please join me in congratulating Scott!