Jansky Prize

The Karl G. Jansky Lectureship

Karl G. Jansky

Karl G. Jansky

The Karl G. Jansky Lectureship is an honor established by the trustees of Associated Universities, Inc., to recognize outstanding contributions to the advancement of radio astronomy. First awarded in 1966, it is named in honor of the man who, in 1932, first detected radio waves from a cosmic source. Karl Jansky's discovery of radio waves from the central region of our Milky Way Galaxy started the science of radio astronomy.

The recipient of this award will present the annual Karl G. Jansky Lecture in Charlottesville, Virginia and in Socorro, New Mexico. The public lecture will be astronomical in nature. Professional astronomical symposia in NRAO facilities will be conducted prior to the evening lectures.

Recipients of the Jansky Lectureship

The recipients of the Karl G. Jansky Lectureship, the year of their award, their institutional affiliations, and the titles of their lectures, are listed below.

2014 - Dr. Jill Tarter

Bernard Oliver Chair for SETI at the SETI Institute and former Director of the Center for SETI Research

2013 - Dr. Charles L. Bennett

Alumni Centennial Professor of Physics and Astronomy and a Johns Hopkins University Gilman Scholar

2012 - Dr. Mark Reid

Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
Measuring the Cosmos

2011 - Dr. Sander Weinreb

NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory and the California Institute of Technology
Radio Astronomy from Jansky to the Future: an Engineer’s Point of View

2010 - Prof. Reinhard Genzel

Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics

2009 - Dr. Anthony Readhead

California Institute of Technology
The Central Engines that Power Active Galaxies

2008 - Dr. Arthur M. Wolfe

University of California, San Diego
Finding the Gas that Makes Galaxies

2007 - Dr. Karl M. Menten

Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie
Tuning in to the Molecular Universe

2006 - Dr. Frank J. Low

Infrared Laboratories, Inc.
How the Spitzer Space Telescope was Designed, Tested and Built

2005 - Dr. Rashid A. Sunyaev

Director, Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics, Garching, Germany
Cosmic Microwave Background Radiation, Clusters of Galaxies and Cosmology

2004 - Dr. Ronald D. Ekers

Australia Telescope National Facility
Paths to Discovery

2003 - Dr. Donald C. Backer

Radio Astronomy Laboratory, University of California at Berkeley
Massive Black Holes, Gravitational Waves, and Pulsars

2002 - Dr. Shrinivas (Shri) Kulkarni

California Institute of Technology
The Brightest Explosions in the Universe

2001 - Dr. William J. (Jack) Welch

University of California at Berkeley
Astronomical Arrays of the Future; Astronomy, SETI, and More

2000 - Dr. V. Radhakrishnan

Raman Research Institute, Bangalore, India
Astronomy's Devices

1999 - Dr. Frank D. Drake

SETI Institute and University of California, Santa Cruz
Progress in the Search for Extraterrestrial Intelligence

1998 - Dr. Bernard Burke

William A. M. Burden Professor of Astrophysics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Radio Telescopes: Reaching for the Astronomical Frontiers

1997 - Dr. P. James E. Peebles

Princeton University
The Big Bang and Our Evolving Universe

1996 - Dr. James M. Moran

Harvard University and Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory
Brilliant Masers and Mysterious Black Holes

1995 - Dr. Jocelyn Bell-Burnell

Open University, Milton Keynes, UK
Tick, Tick, Tick, Pulsating Star, How We Wonder What You Are

1994 - Dr. Vera C. Rubin

Carnegie Institution of Washington, Department of Terrestrial Magnetism
What's the Matter in the Universe

1993 - Dr. David S. Heeschen

Former Director, National Radio Astronomy Observatory
The Development of Radio Astronomy in the United States

1992 - Dr. Irwin I. Shapiro

Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
Reckoning the Size of the Universe Through Gravitational Lenses

1991 - Dr. Allan R. Sandage

The Observatories of Carnegie Institution
The Quest for the Curvature of Space

1990 - Prof. Alan H. Barrett

Massachusetts Inst. of Technology (Emeritus)
Molecular Radio Astronomy: The Beginnings

1989 - Prof. Joseph H. Taylor

Dept. of Physics, Princeton University (Nobel Prize 1993)
Time and the Nature of the Universe

1988 - Prof. William A. Fowler

Professor of Physics, Emeritus
California Institute of Technology (Nobel Prize 1983)
The Age of the Observable Universe

1987 - Prof. Hendrik van de Hulst

University of Leiden, The Netherlands
Far from the Stars

1986 - Prof. Robert Hanbury Brown

Department of Physics, University of Sydney
Stars, Photons, and Uncommon Sense

1985 - Prof. G. R. Burbidge

University of California, San Diego
How Strange the Violent Universe?

1984 - Dr. Robert W. Wilson

Head, Radio Physics Research Department, Bell Laboratories (Nobel Prize 1978)
Millimeter Wave Astronomy

1983 - Dr. Arno Penzias

Vice President, Research, Bell Laboratories (Nobel Prize 1978)
The Astronomical Origin of the Earth's Materials

1982 - Prof. Philip Morrison

Massachusetts Institute of Technology
The New Waves: Fifty Years of Radio Astronomy

1981 - Prof. Martin Rees

Plumian Professor of Astronomy and Experimental Philosophy, and Director, Institute of Astronomy, University of Cambridge, England
The Next Hundred Billion Years

1980 - Dr. Martin Schwarzschild

Princeton University
What Shape Galaxies, Pancakes or Potatoes?

1979 - Dr. Maarten Schmidt

Director, Hale Observatories
Quasars as Probes of the Early Universe

1978 - Prof. Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar

Morton D. Hull Distinguished Service Professor, University of Chicago (Nobel Prize 1983)
General Relativity in Astronomy at Einstein's Centennial

1977 - Prof. E. Margaret Burbidge

University of California, San Diego
Galaxies, Quasars, and the Space Telescope

1976 - Prof. Edward M. Purcell

Harvard University (Nobel Prize 1952)
A Story of Spinning Particles

1975 - Dr. Grote Reber

CSIRO, Tasmania, Australia
Beginning of Radio Astronomy

1974 - Dr. Lyman Spitzer, Jr.

Chairman, Dept. of Astrophysical Sciences; Director, Princeton University Observatory
A Space Astronomer Looks at the Interstellar Medium

1973 - Dr. J. Paul Wild

Chief, Division of Radiophysics, CSIRO, Sydney, Australia
Exploring the Sun with Radio Waves

1972 - Prof. Bart J. Bok

Steward Observatory
Star Birth in the Galaxy

1971 - Prof. Charles H. Townes

Department of Physics, University of California, Berkeley (Nobel Prize 1964)
Exploring for the Creation

1970 - Prof. Robert H. Dicke

Physics Department, Princeton University
Gravitation and the Universe

1969 - Prof. Fred Hoyle

Plumian Professor of Astronomy and Experimental Philosophy, University of Cambridge, England
The Relationship of Astronomy and Physics

1968 - Prof. J. S. Shklovsky

Head, Radio Astronomy Department, Sternberg Astronomical Institute, USSR
On the Variability of Cosmic Radio Source Emission

1967 - Prof. J. H. Oort

Director, Leiden Observatory
Large-scale Distribution and Motion of Hydrogen in the Galaxy

1966 - Mr. John G. Bolton

Director, Australian National Radio Astronomy Observatory
Radio Astronomy: Steppingstones to Quasars
Staff | Contact Us | Careers | Help | Policies | Diversity | Site Map