NRAO External Committees

The Users Committee - 2016

The Users Committee (UC) is made up of users and potential users of NRAO facilities from throughout the scientific community. It advises the Director and the Observatory staff on all aspects of Observatory activities that affect the users of the telescopes. This committee, which is appointed by the Director, meets annually in May.

The current membership of the NRAO Users Committee is given below. In 2014, NRAO integrated the ALMA North American Science Advisory Committee (ANASAC) as a standing subcommittee of the Users Committee. Users Committee members who also serve on the ANASAC are indicated, as are the ANASAC representatives to the international ALMA Science Advisory Committee (ASAC).

  • Loren Anderson, West Virginia University (2018)
  • Alberto Bolatto, (ANASAC/ASAC), University of Maryland (2016)
  • Shami Chatterjee, Cornell University (2016)
  • Laura Chomiuk, Michigan State University (2016)
  • Steven Ellingson, Virginia Tech, (2018)
  • Rachel Friesen, University of Toronto (2018)
  • Trish Henning, University of New Mexico (2019)
  • Shih-Ping Lai, (ANASAC), National Tsing-Hua University (2018)
  • Joseph Lazio, JPL/CIT (2016)
  • Dan Marrone, (ANASAC), University of Arizona (2015)
  • Karin Öberg, (ANASAC), Harvard-Smithsonian CfA (2015)
  • Rachel Osten, (ANASAC/ASAC), Space Telescope Science Institute (2018)
  • Dominik Riechers, Cornell University (2016)
  • Douglas Scott, (ANASAC/ASAC), University of British Columbia (2017)
  • Fabian Walter, Max Planck Inst fur Astronomie (2019)

For 2016, Laura Chomiuk is the Committee Chair, with Loren Anderson as the Co-Chair..

Download The Users Committee Charge (pdf).

The NRAO Visiting Committee - 2016

The NRAO Visiting Committee is appointed by the AUI Board of Trustees to review the management and research programs of the Observatory. The Visiting Committee meetings are held at alternating NRAO sites. The current membership of the Committee is:

  • Rachel Akeson, IPAC/Caltech
  • Edwin (Ted) Bergin, University of Michigan
  • Katherine Blundell, Oxford University
  • Xiaoyu Hong, Shanghai Astronomical Observatory
  • James Jackson, Bsoton University
  • Ryohei Kawabe, Nobeyama Radio Observatory
  • Malcolm Longair, University of Cambridge
  • Luis Rodriguex, UNAM
  • Greg Taylor, University of New Mexico
  • Dan Werthimer, University of California, Berkeley

For 2016, Edwin Bergin is the Committee Chair.

Modified on Friday, 15-Jan-2016 14:29:21 EST by Robin Mason